Paperwork and Phone Calls and Plans, Oh My!

I joked to a friend last week that purchasing and fixing up a mobile home would be good practice in home ownership.  I don’t think I was too far off the mark!

I spent a good part of the weekend running around, doing the bidding of Evil Paperwork.  Like, the kind of paperwork that takes you to an office, only to find out that you brought the wrong thing–now you have to backtrack, find the correct document, go back to the office…you get the point.

Evil Paperwork began to control my life this past Friday when I went with CF’s mother to a Title and Registration service.  See, when you purchase a mobile home, you are technically purchasing a vehicle–so just like for a car, the name on the title needs to change.  CF’s mom has Power of Attorney for his stepdad so she could sign off on all of the paperwork involved in changing ownership to me. But we had the wrong paperwork.

When we finally got it corrected, we went back to the Title and Registration office and successfully changed the Title to my name, after a lovely $110 fee.  Unfortunately, we later realized that the address on the Title was wrong (“Lot 22?  Lot 22?  Who cares about Lot 22!!! Why does this not say Lot 26!!!??”) So a new sort of panic set in.  It doesn’t really matter if the address on the title is wrong–except that I would receive the new title at the address on the form….so I wouldn’t get it.

So today, I spent a lot of time on the phone.  Correcting the address snafu (I apparently called at just the right time, as someone was driving last week’s applications to Springfield and could correct it on the way).  Changing my renter’s insurance to “Manufactured Home” insurance.  Changing the electric/gas bill over to me, while still keeping service at my current apartment until I’m sure I’ll be all the way out.  Getting a lease for the lot rental faxed to me at work (sssshhh….I know I shouldn’t use work equipment for my personal life) and sending it back.  Calling the post office about a package that was never delivered to me last week.  And I still have to call the cable service to cancel service at my apartment.  Oy!

I’m hoping that by the end of the week, Evil Paperwork will have moved on to bother someone else.  Of course, by then I’ll be deep into planning, cleaning, and selling all the stuff that is currently in the mobile home that we don’t want.  Which requires, you guessed it, a moving sale at the trailer park!  Yes, I can see Friday and Saturday now:  I’ll sit on the wooden steps (which need to be rebuilt) of my little mobile home, grading papers I’ve collected from my students this week and trying to scrounge up $5 or $10 for the beat up desks, lamps, entertainment center, tv, etc that still reside inside the hallowed walls of Lot 26.

And once the sale is over, it will be time to paint–because that ugly brown business (see below!) will simply not do.

Brown Brown Brown

More brown! This room could look bigger with a lighter color...

Yes the Brown extends into the bedroom. Ugh.

So, as you can see, there is some serious work to be done.  But for now, I’ve got some chocolate chip shortbread cookies (fresh from the oven!) that need to be eaten, so I’ll bid you adieu and leave you with one last look for today at Lot 26.

Home Sweet Mobile Home

About Cathy G Gilbert

I am veggie-loving, community college professor who lives, teaches, and writes in Central IL.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paperwork and Phone Calls and Plans, Oh My!

  1. Adrianne says:

    Hello! We haven’t met, I’m a friend of a friend. I am super excited for your blog. I’ve been wondering why there don’t seem to be artist/intellectual communities in mobile homes: it seems perfect for that.

    • I agree. One of my colleagues said that when she was in grad school (at SIU) many of her friends lived in mobile home communities because affordable housing was hard to come by. I think it’s a great fit.

Leave a Reply

