The Trailer Park Sale: a lesson in humility and tongue-biting

Hello, dear readers!  I know you’ve been dying to hear about how that sale went, haven’t you?  Of course you have!

Well, first, we made $52.  That is better than I expected (and enough to buy paint samples!)–but unfortunately there is still a bunch of stuff to get rid of.  I think several trips to Goodwill are in my and CF’s near future.

However, I also had the chance to get to know some of our new neighbors.  And learn a few things about trailer park living.  I’ll give you the highlights. Perhaps, I should just number them:

1. Our next door neighbor, Paul, is a stand-up guy.  He was really concerned about CF’s stepdad’s condition–in fact, Paul just kept saying, “So he’s really not coming back?  He’s just going to stay in that nursing home?”  I didn’t have the heart to tell good ‘ole Paul, that CF’s stepdad wasn’t the “great guy” he thought he was, and that he is incapable of getting around on his own, let alone taking care of himself.  I also had a little trouble with our conversation because I was trying really really really hard not to notice Paul’s long ponytail and lack of teeth.

I also learned that Paul works 3rd shift and is very quiet during the day.  I think we’ll get along really nicely.

2. Almost everyone who came into our mobile home to check out the stuff we were selling said, “Well, it’s really nice in here!”  I wanted to say, “Really?  Just wait ’till we get it painted and fixed up!” but instead I humbly accepted their praise.  One woman even said she loved the brown paint color on the walls so much she might paint her trailer the same color.  I politely nodded and smiled.

3. Trailer park mini-skirts do exist.  And they are as horrible as I had feared.  They are even more horrible because you find them on women who don’t have the right body type (read: they aren’t stick thin) to pull it off…and those women annoyingly keep asking you if your washer and dryer are for sale (even going so far as to lift the lids and check them out) though you’ve already told her that they aren’t.  Sheesh!

3a. CF keeps saying I need to invest in a Trailer Park mini-skirt.  I know we are being jerks for poking fun at the attire of our trailer park neighbors, and I do feel bad about that, but….c’mon it was pink AND denim!!!  and S H O R T

4. As I was trying to grade papers in between welcoming possible buyers into our new home, I kept hearing a dog barking.  Non-stop barking.  And to add to the barking was a man who was yelling at the dog to stop barking.  I wondered a couple of things:  why did someone just leave their dog outside on a leash to bark its head off, was the man yelling the owner of that dog, and why did the man think that simply yelling at the dog to “SHUT UP” would really make the barking stop?  And just as I was about to categorize this as yet another unfortunately true trailer park stereotype, I remembered that people can be jerks to animals no matter where they live or how much money they make.  And then I turned up my music and went back to grading.

5. Sue, a neighbor we’ve already met, was bowled over by the signs I put up for my sale because they so nicely led people from the main road, all the way back to Lot 26.  Wanting to cash in on my brilliant advertising, Sue brought over an item she wanted to sell.  However, I learned that Sue doesn’t expect something for nothing.  She admitted that she wanted to take advantage of my advertising, but she set the price for her item for $12, intending that she would get $10 and I would get $2 for providing the signs and the location.  Lesson:  thriftiness and fairness exist in places you might not expect….and from people who are probably alcoholics.

6.  I am beginning to think that this post is making me sound like a jerk who judges everyone.  In reality, I am trying to be honest about those preconceptions I have and how they are being proven wrong again and again.  And I really do mean that Paul is a stand-up guy, and Sue is fair.  Really, I do.

7. Everyone who came to the sale and lived in the park kept telling me what a nice place the trailer park is.  Walking distance to the grocery store and the Dollar Store.  Nice neighbors.  And  a quiet neighborhood.  And you know what? They’re right!  I loved being able to walk to the Dollar Store to buy cleaning supplies, and once that dog stopped barking, it WAS a nice quiet afternoon.  The breeze came in through the windows and it was truly lovely.

All in all, it was a pretty good weekend.  CF’s dad even came out to take measurements for the tub that need’s fixing.  And I got to try out paint colors.  First, we went with these:

Ooo! Pretty!

The blue and green are for the office and bedroom.  I intended to use a yellow for the kitchen (how bright and cheery!), but after trying out the paint samples on the wall, I decided against it.  The yellow was just…too yellow, you know?  Now I’m thinking a light shade of green or something:

Better, no?

I want to get away from that dark brown, but I don’t want to go all HAPPY YELLOW SUNFLOWER crazy up in there.  I don’t know. I’m still deciding.  And I’m very indecisive, so this could take a while 🙂

Alright, I’d better sign off for the night, but I hope everyone had a great Labor Day weekend!  More fun trailer park facts and lessons to come!

About Cathy G Gilbert

I am veggie-loving, community college professor who lives, teaches, and writes in Central IL.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Trailer Park Sale: a lesson in humility and tongue-biting

  1. CD says:

    Dude. Do not underestimate the power of a yellow kitchen.

Leave a Reply

