Bathrooms and Birthdays

Well, tonight’s update will be brief, but will have plenty of pictures!

After getting my last post out of my system, I felt I had a much clearer head.  However, someone very wise (Jenn S.) once (just a few days ago) told me that home improvement projects can be a real strain on a relationship.  And as much as I thought I was expressing my anger at the situation and not at CF, I must have failed because Jenn S. was right.

HOWEVER, the strain and the wait for the bathroom are almost over!  And through all of this, I remain so so grateful that CF and I are not a fighting/shouting couple.  We talk.  And I love that we can talk and work things out, instead of being bitter and holding grudges.   Moving in together was the best idea EVER.

Also, it turns out that CF is a Handyman himself (and a sexy one at that!).  He and his dad did a lot of great work on the bathroom last week:

Here are the shower walls and some fixtures.

And there's the shower floor with the drain covered...

Starting to look like a shower, right? With walls and everything? Yes, CF and his dad did great work. But then, CF did some really impressive stuff:

Is that? Yes! Shower walls AND a door!

Beautiful. Just beautiful!

And then he even put in the shelf AND the shower head!

All that’s left to do is to caulk where the blue tape is and then….I can shower in it. YES!!!!!! Just one more day, and then we can actually use it! The next step is for CF and I to go pick out some fun tile for the rest of that wood subfloor. Until then, we’ll be using lots and lots of bathmats to keep the wood from getting too wet.

So, anyone else think being handy is sexy? Because it is. So much. CF is amazing. Love love love him.

In the midst of all of this awesome progress, I got to celebrate my birthday! My family and CF all made my day very special–and one (of three!) of CF’s gifts to me was an awesome cast iron skillet which we broke in tonight by making this awesome vegan burger:

You didn't know you'd be getting pictures of food on this blog, did you?

CF and I love to cook together. We also like to eat awesome food after a long day of hard work. And CF sure deserved it today!

And with that, I need to get going. Look for another reflection soon–this time on visiting and boundaries.

Until then, may all your partners be sexy and may all your homes be filled with good food!

About Cathy G Gilbert

I am veggie-loving, community college professor who lives, teaches, and writes in Central IL.
This entry was posted in Renovations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bathrooms and Birthdays

  1. Pingback: A Series of Failures: an Apology and Explanation | The Stigma of Lot 26

Leave a Reply

