Halloween at the Trailer Court, and Other Spooky Things

Hello, all!  Well, this week just flew by–I can’t believe it’s already Sunday night and it’s time to start the work week again.  So instead of dwelling on it, I’m eating cupcakes and updating you all.  Sounds better than thinking about the fact that tomorrow is Monday, right?

Not only is it Sunday, it is also (as my 3-year-old nephew informed me this afternoon) Halloween.  And how does Halloween work at the trailer court, you may be asking?   Well, it works just as I had expected–and it works just the same as what I found when I used to live on a dead end street: all the kiddos go to some other neighborhood where they can get a better haul!  At least, that’s what I’ve assumed because 1) I’ve seen quite a few kids running around here over the past couple of months and 2) I did not see any of those kids this weekend.

So either their parents are against the traditions of Halloween altogether, or they wanted to ensure that their kids got the best quality sugar high possible and took them to more affluent neighborhoods.  Or, perhaps, the usual fun atmosphere of Halloween was marred by a real life scary event from this last week.

Remember our “just stopping by” neighbor?  The one that CF and I (sort of rudely) ignored a couple weeks ago while she knocked on our door?  Well, that neighbor had a rough week.  She essentially died on Tuesday (she had no pulse) as a result of alcohol overdose.  She was brought back to life by a kid training to be an EMT, was rushed to the hospital and stayed there for a couple days.

When I heard the news, I was stunned and worried.  And I felt bad: first because I had no idea that her drinking problem was so severe, and second because I had so coldly ignored her the other night.  While I know that there was probably nothing I could have done, I still felt guilty.

But I felt much relief when CF told me about her visit to our dear Lot 26 upon her return home from the hospital. (I was at work, so I missed it.)  CF said that she looked a lot better than she has in years.  More color in her face.  And when she came over she said that she hadn’t had a drop to drink since she got out of the hospital–and that the whole experience was a big wake up call for her.  I hope that this continues to be true for her, and I will do my best to be more welcoming in the future.

In other good news (yes, I am going to make a really awkward transition here): Water Heater has been working well all week!  It was even able to provide hot water for 2 showers, 2 loads of laundry on the Hot/Cold cycle, and 2 sessions of dish washing!  I think our friendship with WH is healing.

And now, those cupcakes on the counter are calling again.  I promise a more inspired post in a couple of days–a post that is not written in spite of a serious cupcake distraction.

Until then–may all your Halloweens be happy (and enjoyably spooky!), may all your homes be happy, and may all your kitchens be filled with delicious cupcakes!

About Cathy G Gilbert

I am veggie-loving, community college professor who lives, teaches, and writes in Central IL.
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

