There’s something in the air…and at my backdoor!

As much as I hate being cold, I do love fall and that slow, crisp change into winter.  It’s crazy, I know.  I hate scraping the ice and snow off of my car, I hate wearing 6 layers in the house to stay warm, and I hate how it’s always so dark so early all winter long–so you’d think that I would hate the change in weather because it’s only a harbinger of what’s to come.

But while the seasons are changing, I totally forget the horrors of winter from last year, and I bask in the wonder that is nature.  I love that crisp smell of the air in the morning, and I love the first time we break out the blankets on the couch for the season.  Who can argue with cuddling and cocoa?

So it’s been fun to watch the seasons change in our new neighborhood.  We are fortunate in that there are lots of beautiful trees in the trailer court.  And even better, CF and I have our very own burning bush right outside our kitchen window.

No, no. Not that burning bush!

This one!

It’s so pretty.  Even when the leaves are still green, it really is a beautiful bush.  I have so loved watching it go from emerald to ruby red–I’ll be sad when all the leaves are gone.

However, there are some things I wish would go away quicker:

1. The two cats that always seem to get into serious fights beneath our trailer.

2. The leaves that have already fallen into our little yard and refuse to rake themselves up.

3. The occasional (but now less frequent) and startling crash of the walnuts falling on our metal roof from the tree outside.

4. And the backdoor visitor.

Now you’ve already read about my (rather scrooge-like) feelings on unexpected visitors.  However, this unexpected visitor came to the back door of the trailer.

What’s that?  You didn’t know we had a back door?   Well, we really don’t.  There is a door next to the laundry machines, and if you were to go through that door it would lead outside to the back of the trailer.  But the door is boarded up from the outside and there is no handle on it.  Also, the distance between the door and the ground is about 2 or 3 feet, and there aren’t any stairs.  So while we have a back door, we don’t really have a back exit, or entrance for that matter. (No anal jokes, please 🙂 ).

That being said, you’ll understand why I was surprised and annoyed when I heard someone knocking on the back door (and there’s another anal joke waiting to happen…).

So, it was a beautiful afternoon, and CF had headed off to the studio to do some more recording.  I was in the office/guest bedroom (that’s right, there’s a whole bedroom available for guests), minding my business and messing around on the computer.  I was probably checking facebook (or some other time-/soul- sucking activity) when I heard something.

I wasn’t sure what I was hearing at first.  Another walnut perhaps.  Maybe the neighbor kids playing in the yard.  But then I heard it again…and this time it sounded sort of like a knock.

Yes, suddenly there came a tapping, as of someone gently rapping, rapping at my trailer door.  “Tis some visitor,” I muttered, “tapping at my trailer door.  Only this and nothing more.”

Well actually, Poe references aside, I wasn’t sure it was a visitor.  I still thought that maybe I was hearing things.  But when the tapping sound took on an odd sort of lilting (and eerily human) rhythm, I decided to get up and check.

I looked out the tiny backdoor window (ha!) but I didn’t see anything!   I was beginning to feel stupid, when I heard the sound again.  This time I figured the neighbor kids were messing around, so I banged on the door to see if anyone would emerge.

And lo and behold, a freakin’ woodpecker bolted away!  (One wonders if Poe’s poem would have been so well loved it had been called “The Woodpecker.”)

I was actually pretty startled.  And, for some reason, I felt pretty stupid about being startled.  Wouldn’t anyone be startled if a bird suddenly appeared and then flew away?  I say yes.  Yes, they would.

So in the end, my backdoor visitor was a little woodpecker. (Yup.  I went there.)  And that’s about all I’ve got for tonight 🙂

Next time, I’ll have to tell you about our storm window adventures, and give you all an update on the bathroom situation.

Until then, may all your homes be happy, and may all your Poe references be free of tasteless jokes! 🙂

About Cathy G Gilbert

I am veggie-loving, community college professor who lives, teaches, and writes in Central IL.
This entry was posted in Events and Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

