Ringing in the New Year

Hello, dear readers.  I know–it’s been awhile, hasn’t it? I apologize for the long absence, but I’ve been busy here at Lot 26.  First it was the end of the semester and I was frantically grading papers and posting grades.  Then I started my holiday break, and I was super busy catching up on Netflix, reading the novels I don’t have make time to read during the semester, baking cookies and cakes, visiting with friends.  And then I was working on my tenure application (yikes!).  And then it was the holidays.

And now I’m back!  And, due some weird glitch the system, I’m not able to log onto my work files anymore this evening, so I’m done working on next semester’s classes for the day.  I thought that was a good sign that it’s time for an update here.  Let’s break it down by category:

Guests

The holiday break was wonderful.  We had several guests to Lot 26.  CF’s friend D came to stay for 3 days and she was a wonderful houseguest–she did the dishes EVERY DAY.  It was awesome.  Oh, and she was super nice and entertaining, and just all around fun to be with–AND she did dishes. (Did I mention she cleaned up practically all of my kitchen messes?)

We entertained friends of mine from Washington, D.C.  AND Monterey, CA (and technically Indonesia, since one of my freind’s husband is from there).  We ate some take out and drank some good beer and wine.  Everyone seemed very impressed with how much space we’ve got.

Also, my oldest brother came to spend Christmas Day with us here at Lot 26!  Even though he lives close by, it was his first visit to our home.  I made him breakfast, we Skyped with our other brother and our nephew in San Fran, and we watched movies.  And before he left, Oldest Brother said, “Pretty nice digs you got here.”  I could feel our little mobile home bursting with pride.

Overall, entertaining guests at Lot 26 is a lot of fun!   Whatever fears I had going in to our move to the trailer court have all but vanished.  We’re looking forward to our next guest!

Renovations

Renovations are on hold until the summer.  Why?  Because CF and I finally saved enough money to purchase our London tickets (!!!!!), and now every extra penny we save is going toward that trip.  We still have some projects we can be working on, for which we had already bought the materials, so hopefully you’ll see some new pics of that soon.

In the meantime, the only other work we’ve done to the place was to put some of that plastic weather proofing window stuff (the plastic sheets you blow-dry tight) on our kitchen windows.  In order to put it up though, we had to take down the blinds: warmer kitchen vs. privacy?  I think curtains will need to be either purchased or made soon.

Also, in the process of putting up the plastic sheeting, we decided to use the opportunity to turn our window into a showcase of sorts.  Apparently, reducing our heating bills is too adult for us, so we had to make the whole process a little sillier and more kid-friendly:

CF says they're having an epic battle in there...

Posts

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to post on a more regular basis here.  I’m shooting for once a week, so I’m hoping there won’t be anymore long absences.  Here are a few things you can look for soon:  “Refrigerator, Our Sometimes Incontinent Friend,” “Food and Class: Healthy Diet as a Privilege,”  “So This is How I Receive a Package Through the Mail at the Trailer Court,” “On Stereotypes: Our Talented Neighbor,” and “More Ways to Save Money: DIY Laundry Detergent.”

So, until next time (next week? 🙂 ), may all your resolutions be positive and attainable, may your 2011 be filled with promise and joy, and may all your homes be happy and warm!

About Cathy G Gilbert

I am veggie-loving, community college professor who lives, teaches, and writes in Central IL.
This entry was posted in Events and Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

