The Trendy Mobile Home?

Hi all!  Keeping with my New Year’s resolution to blog once a week, I decided to sit down and write a brief post this evening, even though I’m feeling a little short on time.  No worries though; I’ll be back to writing full length novels posts next week.

This brief post is inspired by a website I came across yesterday while googling info on “green”/efficient homes.  I am very happy to be here at Lot 26 at this point in my life, but CF and talk a lot about where we’d like to live in the future, and we often dream about building our own home someday–something energy efficient and architecturally interesting…but I digress.   Anyway, I was day-dreaming and looking up info on green homes, and as it happens, I was led to some pages on modular and pre-fab houses.

For the record, I’m kind of in love with FlatPak.  I love that it’s technically pre-fabricated, but that you have so much control over the design of your own home.  And, of course, I like that it appears to be pretty cheap and green.   But that dream is for a far off future 🙂

In my searches, I also came across Tumbleweed Houses.  I had heard of this guy and his tiny homes before, but it didn’t catch my eye the way it did this time.  I mean, just look at this picture:

It’s like the tiniest mobile home ever!  I’ve been reading more and more about tiny homes; it seems that the emphasis on living in big mansions is diminishing in favor of more energy efficient and cheaper housing–which I think is great….

But I’m not sure I could live in one of those tiny homes–by myself, maybe, but with another person?  I think CF and I rather enjoy have some space to move around in…Lot 26 suits us just fine 🙂

Until next week, may all your internet searches be fruitful and/or interesting, and may all your homes be happy!

About Cathy G Gilbert

I am veggie-loving, community college professor who lives, teaches, and writes in Central IL.
This entry was posted in Events and Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Trendy Mobile Home?

  1. Pam Ulrich says:

    I think these types of houses work in warmer climates where not much time is spent inside. Occupants can spend time on that lovely porch to give fellow occupants space.

    • Agreed! I think they are really cool houses–and if you go to their website, they also make “small” houses that are not mobile and are more suitable for multiple occupants.

Leave a Reply

