Meet Refrigerator, our Sometimes Incontinent Friend

So, I thought I’d continue naming our household appliances as if they were pets or people– in tonight’s post, you’ll meet Refrigerator.

When we first moved into our lovely home here at Lot 26, I noticed that Refrigerator had a pool of water at the bottom of it, below the crisper drawers.  Now, because I knew the previous owners hadn’t really taken the best care of the place, I just assumed that something had spilled and no one had cleaned it up.  So, clean it up, I did.

Unfortunately, a few months later, I noticed the pool of water was back.  It seemed that Refrigerator had an incontinence problem!  I did my best to clean it up again, and tried to find where the water was coming from.  The freezer?  No, the temperature was low enough that everything was frozen.  Did we overfill the Brita pitcher?  No, because there wasn’t really any water on the pitcher shelf.  Hmm….

Over the holidays, Refrigerator got a lot of use helping harden the chocolate on many batches of delicious chocolate covered pretzels.  I set the pretzels on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, and let them cool.  On one particular batch, I noticed water has infiltrated the baking sheet on the part that was towards the back of Refrigerator.  Aha!!!  Finally, I had a clue: the water was coming from somewhere around the back!

(Of course, I was horribly upset about the few ruined pretzels, but at least I was getting somewhere with Refrigerator’s little problem.)

More recently, I found water pooled at the bottom of Refrigerator again.  And again, I set to work cleaning it up.

It's hard to see, but there's water there in the corner...

Here, I've pulled the crisper out to get to the big pool of water...

See the towels at the bottom? You also get an idea of what we keep in Refrigerator...

Cleaning up after Refrigerator’s accidents isn’t hard–it’s just time consuming and a bit of an annoyance.  CF’s Biodad thinks that we just need to clean the back of Refrigerator–something about dust building up on the cooling rods back there, making condensation occur on the inside.  I don’t know.  Hopefully, later this week CF and I can attempt to move Refrigerator out enough to see if that’s the problem.  I don’t think I can handle moving it by myself!

Wish us luck as we deal with Refrigerator–or maybe point us in the direction of Refrigerator sized diapers?  🙂

Until next time, may your refrigerators be continent and may your homes be happy!

About Cathy G Gilbert

I am veggie-loving, community college professor who lives, teaches, and writes in Central IL.
This entry was posted in Events and Stories, kitchen adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meet Refrigerator, our Sometimes Incontinent Friend

  1. Pingback: A Series of Failures: an Apology and Explanation | The Stigma of Lot 26

Leave a Reply

