Snowbound at the Trailer Court!

Hello, all!  You may not know, but Lot 26 is located in a lovely trailer court in the middle of Illinois, so this crazy Snowpacolypse Midwestern Blizzard has come to our little home.

Personally, I’ve been enjoying my days off work (snow days!) and hunkering down here, but there were a few scary moments during the actual storm.  For example, when the winds picked up, sometimes the whole trailer would shake, and the lightning and thundersnow were kind of shocking as well.  But, everything held firm, and we never once lost power (not even a flicker!).  Yup, it seems we’re actually pretty safe here at Lot 26, (despite the stereotypes of tornados destroying everything).

Before the major part of the storm hit yesterday, CF took my car down to his studio so he could get some practice and composing in.  He ended up not being able to come back home that night!  But, at least I didn’t have to dig my car out of the mess the plows made here in the trailer court this afternoon…when they finally made it in.   This morning, I went outside to take some pictures, and noticed the snowplows hadn’t come yet, so some neighbors were shoveling the road!  (Incidentally, CF had to park my car at the entrance to the trailer court and march through the snow drifts to get home this morning.) Here are some pictures:

This is the side of our home and our mostly buried trash can...

Here's the comparison shot...this was taken last fall.

Here's a wider view of our dear Lot 26 (I usually park right in front)

Neighbors shoveling the road.

Our screened-in porch...

So what have I been doing since I’ve been snowed in?  Well, the first day, I woke up and made homemade biscuits for breakfast–then I pretty much watched Netflix movies and tv all day–then I made a nice soup for dinner.  Today, I’ve put my nose to the grindstone and did some grading, but I also made time to collect snow for a chocolate-banana-snow smoothie!  and I trudged to the shopping center for martini supplies 🙂   Here’s the smoothie process:

Put some clean, white snow in your blender:

Add your favorite flavors (mine: cocoa powder, peanut butter, bananas) and some milk and blend!

CF was skeptical at first, but he liked it!  It was yummy.

And in the midst of everything, I’ve been on the phone with the local airport because I was supposed to fly out today to D.C. for a writer’s conference–but, due to the blizzard, I got bumped to a Thursday flight, so I fly tomorrow (I hope!).

Now, I think I’ll go back to sipping my martini…I earned it marching through the snowdrifts to the store!  Until next time, may all your snowdrifts be manageable, and may all your homes be happy!

About Cathy G Gilbert

I am veggie-loving, community college professor who lives, teaches, and writes in Central IL.
This entry was posted in Events and Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snowbound at the Trailer Court!

  1. Pingback: A Series of Failures: Furnace | The Stigma of Lot 26

Leave a Reply

