A Series of Failures: ANTS! Redux

Hello all!  I know that you were probably crawling out of your skin while reading my last post on the Dreaded ANTS!, but I hate to tell you: there’s more to the story!

Soon after it seemed that the little ants had given up and gone away, the big guns came marching in.  That’s right.  Bigger ants.  Yay.

I once learned that big ants and little ants can actually be part of the same colony.  The big ants are like the big muscled soldiers that come in to help haul something away when the little ones are done with reconnasaince.  Interesting, huh?  Slightly less interesting when it’s happening in your kitchen–though admittedly, I really only saw two big ANTS!.  When I kept blowing them off the counter, the two would slowly make their  back up, only to be blown away again.  I don’t really want to kill them.

I’m becoming less angry lately about these little guys. I’m still upset in that I feel their presence implies something about my ability to keep a clean home (or my lack of ability to avoid being “trashy”), but then I remember that even as a child we had ANTS! in my parents’ house.  And I didn’t grow up in filth. 

So the ANTS! can hang.  I’m cool with them, I suppose.  They tend to stay away when I’m working on something in the kitchen, and then come out when dinner is served (and already off the counter).

But if they invite over any more of their cockroach friends, it’s over.  So over.

Next post, I promise I’ll update you as to our A/C situation.  Until then, may all you all find tolerance with the things that try your patience, and may all your homes be happy!

About Cathy G Gilbert

I am veggie-loving, community college professor who lives, teaches, and writes in Central IL.
This entry was posted in Events and Stories, kitchen adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

