The Sound of Rain and the Candle on the Table

It’s late and it’s raining.  Have I ever mentioned how much I love the sound of rain on the roof here at Lot 26?  The roof is metal, and the space between the roof and the ceiling thin, so the sound  of rain of the roof feels closer than it ever did in an apartment or in a big house.  It feels like camping.  It feels that much closer to nature.

An odd way to start a post after such a long absence, no?  So much has changed, and I’ve decided instead of trying to cover it all at once, I’ll let it come to you slowly, in bits and pieces—but I will dive right in with where I’m at today.  And today, I’m here on the couch, a candle burning on the table (a wedding gift from our friends in New Orleans…yes, I said wedding).  Today I’m fresh from making my first raw cheesecake, and weary from a long day of errands.  So today, you get a reflective and tired me. 🙂

Again, there is so much to say, to write.  And I will write it. But first, I feel a shift coming. I started this blog as a way to come to grips with my new living situation–a way to write my way to feeling “ok” with living in a trailer park.  It was an exercise in helping myself transition.  But I’ve made that transition.  This September marks 2 years here at Lot 26 (Happy Trailer Parkaverisary to us!), and after 2 years, we comfortably call this place our home.

Instead, we’re on to new transitions.  New adventures and new obstacles.  New philosophies and mantras.  And I’d like to let this blog reflect that.

I started this blog with the intent to grow.  And I have.  I am.  So it’s time the blog grew with me.

Let’s let it.

I’ll let you in on all the new happenings soon. Until then, know that CF and I are happy.  Know that on the other side of struggle and growth is peace.  And know that the sound of rain on the roof can make your home the best home it can be.

About Cathy G Gilbert

I am veggie-loving, community college professor who lives, teaches, and writes in Central IL.
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment